Wood prices and weight vs volume

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Alive

Jan 14, 2015
Virginia
Through a woodworking neighbor I found a line on some logs. They are strictly mixed hardwood, oak,hickory and locust. They will all be delimbed but freshly cut and green. He's selling them by weight, an 11 ton load for 400$.

Anyone know if this is a price I should jump on and an approx amount of (dried) wood I would end up with? I am new to this and getting a new stove so want to get a heads start on the years to come supplies. Thank you.

Weight is not an acceptable measure of wood. The cord is the regular standard. 8 x 8 x 4 ft high cut split and stacked.

bob

Have never heard of selling wood by weight... unless it's processed pellets/ bricks.

All logs I've seen are sold either by cord or board feet. Rough equivalent: 500 BF = 1 cord.

Reactions: Applesister
That a new one here. You should ask the gut what he believes that works out to in cords.

Or ask him what kind of truck it's being delivered with... that should give a sense of volume.