Wood selection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayf19

Dec 5, 2013
Ontario, Canada
I am new to burning wood as a main source of heating and I am running out of wood. I would like to have some advice on which type of wood I should be using. Here's a bit of info:

I live in a cold climate with about 250 days of heating a year, ranging from comfortable 20 degrees down to -40 degrees (before windshield, about 30 days a year).

Wood is readily available in my area, and I can get my hands on white birch (green or dry), tamarack, jack pine and white spruce (all at the same price per cord). I have seen the different charts explaining the MBTU/cord levels, etc. What I am not familiar with is mostly length times; will different woods yield longer burning periods without the need of refueling. I am currently using tamarack and get 6-8 hours of decent burning time, will something else help me achieve comfortable temperatures for a longer time frame?

I am new to burning wood as a main source of heating and I am running out of wood. I would like to have some advice on which type of wood I should be using. Here's a bit of info:

I live in a cold climate with about 250 days of heating a year, ranging from comfortable 20 degrees down to -40 degrees (before windshield, about 30 days a year).