Wood Splitter Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

reaperman

Nov 1, 2006
Central Minn
Ok, I've been delaying the inevitable for a few years now, its time to buy a splitter. I'm sick of renting, just feel too rushed get it all done at once. And my back will be much happier if I split at my leisure. There aren't too many options in my area for splitters to purchase. I have Home Depot, and Menards, which both carry the identical splitter. Which doesnt appeal to me at all. I do have a Northern Tool store which is new in town. And the local chainsaw dealer who sells Timberwolf splitters. I've looked at the Timberwolf, and they do look like a great unit, but 2k, is a bit spendy. Northern tool does seem to have some nice units which are more reasonably priced than the timberwolf. And some of the units have a higher tonnage rating than the timberwolf for less $$. And the Northern 20 ton is a thousand less. I really dont split that much wood each season. Somewhere around 6 cords or so. Is there such a thing as overkill in a splitter. The one I rent locally has a 5hp briggs, 2 stage pump, and seems to work fine. I keep asking the shop owner to sell it to me, but he said he has rented that unit out for at least 15 years now and has no reason to upgrade to a new rental unit. Cant blame him, either. I know the honda gx engines are very dependable and used in all aspects of construction work. But if I'm only using it for 6 cords/year, an engine like that particular model may not be necessary. My woods is primarly red oak, and ash, which both split pretty well. Looking for input