• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
A potential client has sent me a picture of his home made metal frame which he is using to support a Napoleon Wood stove in his garage. Distance from floor is 18 inches and metal frame will be anchored into concrete.
Barrie-WETT-Inspection.jpg

I am a WETT certified inspector and would not want to pass something that maybe unsafe.

What are your thoughts on this installation? Would it be considered adequate?

Regards

Roger Frost

I agree with you DAKSY and being a firefighter for 30 years gives me a healthy fear of gasoline and fire! This installation should meet all the requirements for installation in Barrie ON. I think. Everyone has a different comfort level when it comes to safety.

Might pass inspection - getting it cleared by an insurance company is another ball game.

If it was my home garage, I would run it when it was safe to do so. That said if I was a professional installer you can't be doing anything that does not meet the code. Even if you know the guy will run it safely. What happens when he sells the place and the next has gas all over the floor running the stove.

That said if I was a professional installer you can't be doing anything that does not meet the code.
It does meet code in Canada. 18" off the floor and protected from impact.

Reactions: Highbeam
I'm curious why he'd frame it out like that? Also, is it welded/attached to the frame, or just kind of sitting in it?