Wood stove placement and flue pipe idea/help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

atjones44

Sep 24, 2015
Kansas
Let me start off by saying im new to wood stoves. I've yet to get one. But been having ideas to make my living room more rustic and having an alternative (and no need to rely on electricity) to just my central heat with propane. My house is a berm home, built into the ground. So my walls are all concrete and so are my floors.
I was thinking of taking out some studs and drywall covering the concrete walls and adding a wood stove and tiling behind it with some nice look wood plank looking tile, and removing enough carpet and staining the concrete and have a carpet guy come and do their fancy carpet rolled looking edges around the concrete floor hearth.
Where im getting at is if i wanted to build a little alcove above the wood stove that comes out 14" or so, so i can hang a mantel and hide my flue pipe inside the false alcove framework so it goes up and out the ceiling and roof. would double wall stove pipe be safe enough?
I'll attach some drawing pictures.

Thanks for any help.

-Andrew
IMG_0435.JPG IMG_0436.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome Andrew. It's great that you are penciling out this idea first. We recently had someone build this exact setup, posted it here and then we had to unfortunately point out that it was wrong due to a failure to meet the code and stove requirements for alcove clearances.