Wood to Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Steamer

Jul 15, 2008
Southern Vt
I have been burning wood since 1981 and am currently thinking about switching to a pellet stove. I have a large wood lot so the wood cost is my labor. I have an old wood stove Nashua that heats really well but needs a lot of tending such as being filled frequently as I burn hot fires with dry wood to keep chimney clean. I only burn about 1 1/2 cords a year when I am home and about 250- 300 gallons of oil to heat the house which is 2,000 square feet and well insulated. I would like heat entirely with a wood product. I was looking at the Quadra Fire Mt Vernon and the dealer explained the cleaning of fly ash and after every ton cleaning other parts inside that takes about an hour and then at the end of the season cleaning all components. My question are:
1) What is the maintenance of pellet stove to keep to in good operational order
2) Is it difficult to do

I am mechanically inclined and to do most things my self.

Thanks in advance

1) weekly vacuuming of the firebox, dumping the ash pan weekly, removing the baffle and cleaning the heat xchanger weekly.

2) no. takes me about 20 mins after stove is cooled off.

by the way I have a Mt Vernon AE and it heats my 2000 sq ft 2 story.
your results may vary.