Wood type?????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Blowin smoke

Dec 16, 2013
Gibsonburg ohio
Hi. I am completely new to using wood in a stove but I love it. I don't know much about anything but would love to learn it all. Do you know what kind of wood this is and does the dark ring in the center mean it's still not dry enough? Thank you very much.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    164.7 KB · Views: 149
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    220.4 KB · Views: 153
Something is telling me Elm but the center wood is very dark for Elm.
Colors change when the wood becomes saturated with moisture. Its like soaking it in linseed oil. Wood oxidizes with time and exposure to elements too. Some lighten and some darken.
If you bring this piece inside and let it dry the center will change color.
But the colors and the changes they go thru are not necessarily linked to the seasoning process.
They are only temporarily linked to surface moisture.
Wood can even be sunbleached and dry on the surface and still be totally saturated with water.

Something is telling me Elm but the center wood is very dark for Elm.
Colors change when the wood becomes saturated with moisture. Its like soaking it in linseed oil. Wood oxidizes with time and exposure to elements too. Some lighten and some darken.
If you bring this piece inside and let it dry the center will change color.
But the colors and the changes they go thru are not necessarily linked to the seasoning process.
They are only temporarily linked to surface moisture.