Woodstove surround- stone/sand

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bjorn773

Sep 12, 2007
Rockford, Illinois
Hello all, I am a newbie here in search of opinions. I have a Century stove in my basement that I have used exclusively to heat my home for the past several years. With both my wife and I working full time, I cannot keep a fire going all day, so the house is a bit cool when we return. I am curious if there would be an advantage to surrounding the stove with slab stone or even a hollow steel enclosure filled with sand(I like to weld stuff). In the photo gallery here there is a photo of an Englander stove with a slab of soapstone set on top. Is there a real advantage to this or am I wasting my time. My theory is the stone or sand would retain much of the heat and slowly radiate it throughout the day, much like a soapstone stove. Any input will be appreciated.

My Englander sits in my fireplace and the surrounding masonry sure soaks up the heat and radiates it after the stove burns down.

Hi Bjorn,

Sure, that would work. That is how masonry heaters and also soapstone stoves work. But I have to wonder if it is worth all the effort. If I were you, I would probably replace the century with a stove that is built for 24/7 burning and that will retain heat, such as a hearthstone or woodstock stove. Or perhaps a PE stove with EBT.

Carpniels