Woodstove vs. Boiler vs. Both... wise timeline?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kankujoe

Jun 8, 2008
West Central Missouri
The more I read the more undecided I become. I am new to all this and want to make wise choices as I transition away from propane to wood burning. I live in a 2850 sq ft home that I built in 1995. It is a two story w/ a 20x30 great room addition (2850 sqft total not including basement which is approx 1800 sq ft). Exterior walls are 2x6 w/ R19 insulation, attic has R38 insulation, and fanfold insulation over the exterior wall sheathing and finally vinyl siding (I may change to a log siding down the road). Furnace is a high efficiency Lenox, HWH is a high efficiency AO Smith, great room has a Carrier electric wall unit both heating & cooling. I live on wooded acreage so I have an unlimited firewood supply.

I got bit pretty bad last winter with propane costs (which are ever increasing). I would like to transition to woodburning to reduce fuel costs and use wood as my primary fuel w/ propane as the backup. Since I am a newbie I am not sure which way to proceed. Should I start with a woodburning stove such as the Englander NC series (also not sure which size to go with)? Or should I start with a woodburning boiler like a Central Boiler system? I assume that either way I go I will likely recover my initial costs given the current & future propane costs. Should go with both right away or transition over time.

How much could I expect to offset propane costs with a woodstove? Or do a I need a boiler to really have any savings?