Worried about Mold.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Gaitley

Jan 7, 2023
Danbury CT
Hello Everyone,
I’m looking for some help in assessing a cord of wood a bought. Specifically, I’m worried about the mold. I’ve searched for information about this but am still not clear, so I thought it share some photos here as ask for your help.

What looks like black mold (among other moles) seems to be everywhere, not just the ends, if 80% of the cord.

Is this unsafe to burn now? I’m in the northeast and was planning to use this ‘seasoned’ wood now.
If so, might it be safe if I let it dry over another summer?

I’m somewhat new to wood stoving and concerned I was given the ‘junk’ by this firewood guy, and that it won’t be safe to burn now.

Thank you!

IMG_2673.jpeg IMG_2679.jpeg IMG_2677.jpeg IMG_2674.jpeg IMG_2675.jpeg IMG_2676.jpeg IMG_2678.jpeg

It was piled or stacked wet at one point. As long as it’s dry now it’s safe to burn. I wouldn’t want to store it inside, but chances are those molds are quite common and probably not very toxic. But fewer mild spores we breathe the better I think. If you don’t have a moisture meter I suggest getting one.

My wet pine grows crazy stuff if in the wet spring and humid summer.

It was piled or stacked wet at one point. As long as it’s dry now it’s safe to burn. I wouldn’t want to store it inside, but chances are those molds are quite common and probably not very toxic. But fewer mild spores we breathe the better I think. If you don’t have a moisture meter I suggest getting one.

My wet pine grows crazy stuff if in the wet spring and humid summer.