Would you school me on wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

snow4me

Nov 24, 2008
S/E Michigan
Hey there guys, I am new to burning and know nothing about wood. I was wondering if you could make me a list of the wood I should burn in my Jotul F100, starting from best to worst? My brother-in-law works for the city and I am able to cut wood from the trees they take down. With the small amount I will be burning each year, I can be picky. Thanks!!!

Daryl

If I only had one wood to burn, it would be hard maple. It doesn't take as long as oak to season, gives off good heat, and coals very well.

I am fortunate that I have a good selection to choose from. Oak, maple, white ash, black ash, birch...... It all burns well, but you have to make sure you season your wood properly no matter what you cut. Even white ash, which is already low in moisture content, should be seasoned for a while before burning.

well seasoned
seasoned
seasoned good enough

not seasoned you don't want at all. :)

If it's free and easy, burn everything cuz everything burns.

Burn it all huh!!! My stove only has a burn time of around six hours and will only be used on the weekends since it's in my little 12X20 snowmobile/hunt cabin. I was just hoping to have her burn through the night as well as possible and spoil her a bit with the good stuff.

Daryl

The best wood will be dependent on your area. I'm not sure what grows native there in MI, but the hardest hardwood you can find that is readily available in the area is your best bet.