WOW.. Talk about getting your attention..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

84Buckeye

Jun 11, 2009
Ohio
This is my first year burning. Everythings been going well to this point but all that changed today.
I was scooping out some coals on my wood furnace earlier today to make room for some wood.
Seemed to be more smoke than usual despite my best efforts to minimize smoke (open the damper
all the way and very, very slowly open the door) about a half hour later the smell of smoke was
terrible.. So I ran downstairs and looked through the glass and saw no flame, then seconds later a
HUGE flame and smoke bellowing out everywhere.. kept repeating.. no flame.. then huge flame and
smoke..

Brain going a thousand miles and hour!!

So i completely closed the damper and let the darn thing burn down for a few minutes.. seemed
more like hours though.. So despite the smoke which was pouring out like crazy now.. I figured this was
the best course of action. Eventually it cooled down enough and I emptied it out. The wood was
black!! Very HOT and black as coal.

I've been cleaning my heat exchangers and outlet tube every couple weeks and the cresote
build up did not look that bad.. so I wasn't overally considered about what the stainless steel
liner looked like.

Looking back.. I think I dodged a very BAD situation!

I have no idea patch. There's an air inlet on the bottom of the door that I try my best to keep coals away from.
The coals glow in-line with it in the bed.. There's also a air inlet in the middle of the damper.. But its path is hidden so I dont