1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Yeah, sorry...the shop ordered the wrong hopper size so we need to come back after New Years.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by smwilliamson, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Not on my watch...

    Harman P35i 23.5 to 19.5 hopper conversion..

    First, mark the height

    [​IMG]

    Then, cut out the shape. MAKE SURE YOU REMOVE THE HOPPER LID SWITCH CORD BEFORE CUTTING!!!!! Notice that I have my vacuum running at the base of the hopper.

    [​IMG]

    Remove the side walls and flip the shape up-side-down. I Cut off the 90° fold tabs.

    [​IMG]

    Seam tape the hopper closed and re-install the hopper lid switch cord.

    [​IMG]

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Bump... pictures are up.
  3. BradH70

    BradH70 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    South West NH
    What was the reason for doing this?
  4. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    The opening of the fireplace was only 20" high but they ordered the 24" hopper.
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,228
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You better be careful Scott, our resident tin knocker will worry about his retirement plans.
  6. BradH70

    BradH70 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    South West NH
    That is what I suspected. Nice tin work by the way.
  7. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Thanks. Seriously...took me ten minutes.
  8. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    Any liability concerns with this modification?
  9. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Sure. If it done wrong and air leaks into the hopper you could have a hopper fire. From a warranty aspect....I would imagine i just nulled it. Given that i will be the tech to service this thing, should there be a problem I will take the responsibilty....but I know what Im doing, so realisticly, there will be no problem. The hopper is more air tight now than before.
  10. slangtruth

    slangtruth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Loc:
    Western MA
    Can't you just replace it when the official Harman part comes in?
  11. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,989
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    The official harman part is another stove with the right size hopper. Its not just a plug and play exchange. The entire hopper is riveted and glued. Besides....the guy waited a while already and he wanted to to get it in. Cutting the hopper down was one suggestion i have him...first being that weneeded to come back with another stove.
  12. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,938
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Very resourceful! Many installers would just say 'Sorry'......

Share This Page