Yet another chain question.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shmodaddy

Burning Hunk
Sep 12, 2011
So IL
Ok guys I know most are probably tired of all the endless chain questions but here's another. What is the difference in all the chains. What is the "Pico" cut? Circle cut chisels and on and on. Please help me under stand I'm not a total newbe but still kinda lost. Currently I'm sawing with a Ms 290 with 18 inch bar. I think I'm using a micro Pico (????) Not truly sure but its what the guy sent me home with from dealer several years ago. What chain style are you using and why. Predominantly we (neighbor n I ) cut hard wood trees already down from storms but do occasionally fell one or two dead ones. Thanks alot!!!

Look on your bar there will be some stamped info on it near the power head. Post that info and you will get better answer to fit your saw.

smokinjay said:
Look on your bar there will be some stamped info on it near the power head. Post that info and you will get better answer to fit your saw.
So the only variable will be application. I cut a majority of softer wood not like you guys back in the Easterly ares. I have been told that some chains cut better than others in different woods. Maybe you could try a couple styles till you find the one you like. Your gauge and bar length are the main thing, then the size of your motor. Some smaller saws don't have the snoot to run skip tooth or a longer bar... ;-)

RNLA said:
smokinjay said: