1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Yet another question about Pacific Energy T5 Baffle/Heat Shield

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by durutti123, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. durutti123

    durutti123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Hilltowns of Western Mass
    I was doing a mid-season clean of our T5 today, and when I had the pipes off, I took a look at the exhaust opening on top of the stove. I saw the familiar bolt on the heat shield sticking out, and also noticed a notch in the opening. I lifted the bolt and it seated nicely in the notch, and lifted the heat shield. Now I am wondering if it was meant to be that way all along. As always, and help would be appreciated.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,811
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
  3. durutti123

    durutti123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Hilltowns of Western Mass
    BeGreen,
    Thanks. I argree, it fits like a charm. As always, thanks for the quick and helpful response.
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,811
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Have you noted a change in how it burns since moving it?
  5. albertj03

    albertj03 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I never knew about this and now I'm wondering if it's setup correctly in my Super 27. I don't remember seeing it when I set it up and don't recall reading anything about it in the manual. What is the purpose of it? Is it so flames don't get sucked up into the pipe?
  6. albertj03

    albertj03 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Looked in the manual and as I suspected, there is no mention of the flame shield except for in the parts diagram. You'd think they would add a sentence some where stating that the nut on flame shield should be properly installed into the slot. I don't remember seeing it like that when I set mine up so I'm willing to bet it's not set properly. What would the negative affects of burning without it set be? Very interested to find out if anything changed in the way the OP's stove burned after the fix.
  7. thechimneysweep

    thechimneysweep Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    799
    Loc:
    Bellingham, WA
    You now have it right, with the bolt in the notch. These bolts are tightened down at the factory, but it's a long semi ride between Cobblle Hill, BC and Western Mass, and your bolt might have vibrated loose in transit. Expansion and contraction of the metal as it heated and cooled may have finished the job, which would explain why nobody at your end noticed the plate was loose during the install process. Now that you've got it back in place, you're good to go.
  8. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,811
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Thanks for the confirmation Tom. I agree that this should be mentioned in the docs. We had another person ask about the flame shield with a Summit (?) earlier this season.
  9. certified106

    certified106 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,472
    Loc:
    Athens, Ohio
    Ok, you guys had me curious so I pulled the screws and slid my pipe up and my flame shield was where it was supposed to be. Guess mine didn't come loose when it was shipped.

Share This Page