Yosemite Top Still Smells

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

embers aplenty

Burning Hunk
Mar 17, 2011
East Tennessee
Hello Everyone. I've been following this forum through the biggest part of the winter and I must say it's a great wealth of information and a very enjoyable place to just relax and enjoy the posts.

I'm a newbie here but I've been heating my 1000 square ft 60 year old house totally by wood stove for nearly 20 years. I've never bought any wood. Always cut my own wherever I can. I've used a Mama Bear Fisher almost the whole time "little big I know" then a Baby Bear. I still use a Grandma Bear in my garage. I know they are outdated and burn on the dirty side but they're tough as nails and have had their place in the world.

After doing a lot of reading on this forum I've stepped into the world of the newer epa stove. For the last month I've been using my new Quadrafire Yosemite which I got a great deal on and I do indeed love this little stove. It burns a good bit less wood then the Fishers did, throws out plenty of heat and the view of the fire is phenomenal. I'm using my old unlined masonry chimney which I now know is a definite no no. I plan to install a 6" insulated liner next month when the stove season here is over with the block off plate and all, via what I've learned from this forum.