Your opinion's on fireplace insert brand??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wingnut

Dec 21, 2005
I have been looking at fireplace inserts and wondered if anyone could give me advice,reviews or opinion's on the Osburn 2200 and the hearthstone Clydesdale.

Look for my posts on the Osburn 1800i. The 1800 and 2200 are almost identical except for size.

I have no experience with the Hearthstone, but I'll give you a couple points on the Osburn.

I'd suspect it's peakier than the Hearthstone. Hearthstone's are made of some soapstone, so will tend to even out the heat a bit.

Osburn has an amazing view of the fire with the bay window...but, the airwash could keep up better. I basically clean the glass every day. I've made a shield that I place in the door opening to allow the glass to cool, then I clean it with water and a dab of cool ash from the fire. Works real well, and only takes a few minutes.

Osburn provides a lot of radiant heat out of that glass. It get's extremely hot feeling at times. I guess the glass on the hearthstone may do same if running at full bore.

If looking at the 2200, I'd also look at the Lopi Revere, Avalon equivalent, and Pacific Energy stoves in the same space.

The Hearthstones do look nice though!

I have the Hearthstone Clydesdale here's my thoughts about it.