Your Secondary Burn Times

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 5, 2007
South Coast, MA
I've read a lot on this site about how to achieve a good secondary burn, but I haven't seen a lot relating to how long the secondary burn lasts. I've read some posts where they get the secondary burn for 15-20 seconds at a time as the fire jumps up to ignite it also read people getting 1-2 hr secondary burns. I'm new to burning and stoves in general and the best I can seem to do is get a good 30-40 minute secondary burn, with lots of flames both on the wood and above it coming out the burn tubes. Air control closed half way... close it any more and I lose the flames on the wood, open it anymore and too much air gets in and kills the secondary burn. After that 40 mins or so the wood is starting to get pretty chared and maybe it stops gasification (I'm guessing that is why.)

If people do achieve secondary burns for 1-2 hours how is that done? Bigger splits?

So lets hear what your average secondary burn times are...

Thanks

On my Dutchwest, bigger splits do help getting longer secondary burns, I make em phone book sized and can get 2 into the box and get up to 3 good solid hours on secondary burn as long as I get a good char on the wood before shutting down the air control to around 25% or less.. Also red/white oak gives a lot more time vice pine or ash..

T

When I load the box full, at least 2-3 hours