1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

YUCK!!! Look at this hydraulic fluid!

Post in 'The Gear' started by NoPaint, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. NoPaint

    NoPaint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Loc:
    USA
    You can't tell how much water there was before that stuff started flowing. The tank has no drain so I have to use a suction pump. Right now there is an iceberg in the tank so im slowly melting that so I can get all the water out.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tiber

    tiber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Loc:
    Audubon, PA
    Dont you want to go the other way and freeze it so the water becomes slush and can be filtered out with a coffee filter?
  3. NoPaint

    NoPaint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Loc:
    USA
    What I mean is that I am melting the iceberg in the tank so i can suck all of that liquid out. I won't be reusing the oil but instead replacing it with new "Coastal Economy Hydraulic Fluid."
  4. tiber

    tiber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Loc:
    Audubon, PA
    you pulled your oil out of the ocean in new orleans?
  5. JustWood

    JustWood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,473
    Loc:
    Arrow Bridge,NY
    Looks like a drum to me.
    So what's the deal? Why water in hydro?
  6. NoPaint

    NoPaint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Loc:
    USA
    Tank breather was left open.
  7. JustWood

    JustWood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,473
    Loc:
    Arrow Bridge,NY
    Pull the hose off the bottom and drain.
    Where's the intake?
    What's the tank on?
  8. NoPaint

    NoPaint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Loc:
    USA
    Already got it cleaned out. Main problem now is that I need to rebuild or replace the ram. See my other post. I need some suggestions on what diameter to get. I think the one on there is about 4" diameter on the body of it. What is everyone else running?

Share This Page