1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Zero Clearence pipe temperature

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by lloyd08, Feb 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lloyd08

    lloyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Ont.
    I have a zero clearance fireplace. How can I get a temperature reading on the chimeny pipe ? There is no temperature gauge on the fireplace anywhere. So far we are just keeping the fires fairly small. What is the best method to get a acurate temperature of the fireplace ? Any Suggestions are appreciated.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    For the Neat & Glow Northstar I put a magnetic thermometer on the frame of the door. That is the only thing really in direct contact with the firebox to stick anything to. The facia has an air gap behind it on that unit. That's about all I can help you with without knowing what you have.
  3. lloyd08

    lloyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Ont.
    The fireplace is a Selkirk 2000. It also has gravity vents. Unfortunately there is no blower fans on the unit. The picture on the avatar are of the firplace when we bought the house as you can tell it was not even close to being to code. The gauge on the door is a good idea. Thanks.
  4. North of 60

    North of 60 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,449
    Loc:
    Yukon Canada
    Selkirk 2000 sounds like the vent manufacture. They make inserts?
  5. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Selkirk makes some ZC EPA boxes.
  6. North of 60

    North of 60 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,449
    Loc:
    Yukon Canada
    Thanks JTP.
  7. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,277
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    There is really no reason to get a temp reading on the chimney pipe of installed fireplaces. Millions of them - in fact, tens of millions - are in daily operation without such a reading.
  8. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    Why are you burning a fireplace that is obviously not to code? Do you have an installation manual? Were the fans originally required and now removed? Pyrolysis could lead to a house fire. Why not re-install it to proper safety codes?
  9. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,277
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    No way we can tell anything from a tiny avatar pic.

    The unit should be exactly as per the manual, period - or, of course, exceed those requirement. Monitoring the fire will not be a substitute at all for that.
  10. DiscoInferno

    DiscoInferno Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,327
    Loc:
    Silver Spring, MD/ Munising, MI
    Your avatar looks like a non-EPA prefab fireplace. No real reason to measure the temp if that's the case, as you probably don't have any way to control it anyway.

    On my Ultima EPA ZC I put the thermometer on the stub of pipe behind the top louver. Unfortunately to see it you need to put your face right up to the louver and peer between the slats. There is really no spot on the face of the Ultima that would give a useful reading.
  11. lloyd08

    lloyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Ont.

    Seaken: I didn't have a fire in it until it was brought up to code. When we bought the house it wasn't to code. We have made all the necessary changes and have it WETT certified. No I don't have a manual. I have looked on Selkirks site and have found nothing. Instead I have read as much as I can from this site. As for the fans there were none originally. The installer said that I could have some put in.
  12. Metal

    Metal Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    680
    I found the manual .pdf 'd on Selkirk's site, just type "2000" in their search function and it is the first thing that comes up (as "Model 2000").
  13. lloyd08

    lloyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Ont.
    That would be the one.

    Thanks Leelli.
  14. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    Sorry to be a pest. I do not wish to irritate you. But how did you manage to bring it up to code without the owners manual or installation instructions from the manufacturer? In all cases with factory built fireplaces the manufacturer's installation instructions is the code. These are listed products and the listing establishes what is code. Without those instructions present to refer to I fail to see how you could determine the fireplace is now up to code. Accepting a local inspector's word for it does not make it safe. WETT does not determine the codes. The manufacturer's laboratory listing determines the code. Get that manual.

    Sean
  15. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,752
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Ask that WETT certified hearth professional that he hired Sean. Not him. :coolsmirk:

    BB - Ducking under his desk.
  16. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    Yes, exactly! Shouldn't the WETT guy know he needs the owners manual?
  17. lloyd08

    lloyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Ont.
    I have the manual. Post#11. Thanks Leelli !!

    I knew the fireplace wasn't to code when we were looking to buy the house so I hired a certified Technician to tell me what needed to be done to bring the fireplace to code. They explained everything that needed to be done and why. This was at my request no one Else's. I did the work I was comfortable with and they did the rest. They install these for a living so they had better know the codes.

    If it needed to much work I would have ripped it out and planted flowers in it. (Seriously it was going beside the spruce tree in the front yard.)

    Thanks for your interest.

    Don.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page