25-PDVC conditional errors-shutdown

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dauby

Dec 16, 2010
Western CT
I just moved into a new home and my first experience with pellet stoves has been riddled with unknown problems. I watched the video that the previous owner left behind and have read the manual from the website. Since I have never used this type of heating before, I am at a loss for troubleshooting and the number to Englander is always busy. It seems to do a very good job heating the home and the tiny amount of ash is very welcomed as opposed to my experience with wood burning fireplace inserts.

We have a 25-PDVC pellet stove unit. We can start and run the unit almost 100% of the time as long as we use the Heat 1-2 and Fan 9 setting. If a higher temp is desired, the stove shuts down with a E1 code usually within an hour. At first I thought it might be overheating but I found that I would get an E3 error code which I never have.

After the unit shuts down, attempting to turn it back on results in first an E0 then a display of the current settings, an E2 error, then an E1 error. Usually after this if we wait for 20 minutes, the stove will start back up without issue and continue to run if the heat settings are moved back down to 1 or 2. This may be normal but the glass soots up within a day or 2 of cleaning.