Advice Needed: Our First Home Has a Zero Clearance Fireplace - Options?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CJRages

Oct 20, 2009
Mid Missouri
Hi all,

A newbie here...I have done some research here and on other websites, but I haven't found an explanation that exactly fits our situation... so here it goes...

My wife and I purchased our first home one month ago. The house is a split foyer built in 1979. Upstairs 1,350 square feet and basement 650 square feet + garage. Our zero clearance - prefab fireplace - is located in the basement and had a very large wood burning insert placed in it (earth stove brand - appears to be from the 80's?). The fireplace is vented through a chase running up outside the wall of the home containing an 8 inch single wall pipe. We had an inspector take a look. He greatly frowned upon the setup >:-( (not surprisingly after what I've read) exclaiming how dangerous this type of situation can be. The same inspection company had been hired in 2002 and failed the system then as well. From what he could tell the stove has hardly been used - gasket still in good shape - no warped metal door - hinges are not heavily worn. So hopefully the previous owners took some caution.