Air Source and Cleaning of Your Dog House?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jadm

Dec 31, 2007
colorado
I am just learning about this thing on my insert called the 'dog house'. My manual does not mention it at all.

Does it get it's air from the primary air used in the air wash or from secondary air or from a source all of it's own?

How do you keep yours free from ash since it sits right down in the fire box?

Thanks!

I use the curved hook of the poker to clear away the ashes so as not to push the ashes into the opening. Mine takes air from the room through a small hole underneath the firebox and there is a growing pile of ashes directly beneath the hole.

I've looked at the drawings in the Jutul manual and could not determine where it draws air from and what would happen if ashes got going in the wrong direction. As long as the door is closed, the draft should keep it clear. If careless ash removal did plug it, a shop vac should be able to clean it out.

Thank-you for the info. I was surprised that it wasn't mentioned in the manual.

Since I have discovered it I have been more attentive to the ashes on the shelf around it making sure I use the whisk broom along the groove. I also use a 19 gauge piece of galvanized wire to clear the channels in it out. Works great and easier than bringing in the shop vac. Can clear it even when insert is hot.

I have read about ash plugging the primary air vent in the C450, but can't figure out from the diagrams in the manual what the area in question is for the C550.