American Wood Fiber or Presto Logs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brihvac

Feb 20, 2011
North Wilmington, DE
I already have a ton of Pennigton's (I know) <--newbie here. I want to pick up about 20 or so more bags. Local place has American Wood Fiber and Presto logs. Which ones do you guys recommend?

20 bags is such a small amount, I'd just split the order so you can try each for yourself. AWF would get the clean(lower ash amount) edge.

I have heard mixed reviews with the Penningtons. But you could be surprises. Some say they have made improvements.

I have burned both. AWF's are a good pellet. I got a bad batch of them last yr. The avg pellet length was about 2". With some reaching 3". Other than that 1 ton, the others have been good.

Presto Logs are also pretty good. They are a blend pellet. Hardwood and Conifer. Very dark pellet.

Best bet is to try before you buy. Penningtons are a bottom of the barrel pellet. BUT......

I just seen the other day that a guy is selling an "All Oak" Pennington. Much different than the Natures Heat that I have burned. The bags were completely different. I almost thought about buying some of them. He had like 8 ton on Craiglist to sell. Never seen them before. He wants $200/ton.

Every stove and set-up is different. What works for one, may not work for another. This is my personal experience. Yours may differ.