And I thought I was a veteran....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Soadrocks

Nov 1, 2009
Rochester, NY
I had my first year of woodburning under my belt and I was thinking I became a Veteran/Pro. I always used the most seasoned wood, able to get the best fires, long overnight burns with the Jotul Castine, and everything has been "peachy" this season thus far until this afternoon.

Approximately, at 3 this afternoon, I had these really long splits, too long to put in E/S, would have to put in NW/SE to have a chance. Waiting for the coals to to burn down, I thought I would stick one in. From the angle I was looking, it looked like it fit, but when I went to close the door, slowly, at least I thought I was, glass touched wood and cracked.

I never became so infuriated with myself, i sounded like a redneck sailor. I was so pissed. I grabbed the phone, called our woodstove place to see if they were open, and lo and behold they were open. What time you close? 4 o clock. They're a good 30 minute drive. You have any spare glass for the Jotul Castine? Sorry, we do not, but did you buy it from us? Yes, I did. All right, come on in and we'll give you the floor models. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

The price of this glass, holy kazoo....Lesson learned for sure. Ego was put into check. I'm going to be so careful now, because I dont want to go through that ordeal again. I guess it takes more than one year to become a vet. Still a rookie, still learning. I'm sitting in my boxers, watching football, and loving the 80 degree living room, I guess you can't put a price on that!