another proverbial which stove is right for me. . .

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

adranus

Aug 29, 2011
AZ
Ladies and Gents,

Take it easy on me, I'm a newbie :)
I have a 3,000 square ft ground floor with a spot close to the middle of it plumbed for a wood stove. The rough framing for the hearth is in place. I need a stove. I've been eye-balling the QuadraFire 5700.
My ceilings are at 10 ft. The exterior walls are stucco on 2x6 framing with sprayed-in foam insulation. I'm in southern Arizona, so the temps don't get crazy low, but it does get cold.
I'm surrounded by 10 acres of mesquite. I can't think of anything I enjoy more than cutting wood (well, maybe one thing. . .). I walk around in my mesquites and stumble across piles of wood that I cut, stacked, and forgot about!! So I have plenty of firewood.
Anyway, to the question, what are your thoughts on the 5700 for that size of a house (there's also a finished attic that some of the heat will escape to)? What would be some good alternatives?

Thanks!

Also. . .my attic trusses are on 1 ft centers, so the clear distance between them is about 10.5 inches. Does that mean I'm hosed as far as a stove with an 8" outlet? Because isn't chimney pipe double wall? So an 8" chimney pipe will actually be about 12" in outside diameter, which means I'm toast. . .

adranus said:
Ladies and Gents,

Take it easy on me, I'm a newbie :)