Anti-kickback chainsaw, yea or nay?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wccountryboy

Nov 9, 2008
NC
I just got a new Stihl MS390, as I've got access to pleanty of wood to burn (this is my first year). I have some experiance with, and am comfortable running a chainsaw, but far from an expert. This is also the largest saw I've used. The saw came with the regular, not anti kickback, bar and chain. The 2 questions I have are, first, how effective a safety device are low kickback bars and chains? And second, what are the disadvantages to using them?

You have a pretty good size saw, it is not a homeowner saw. That being said, you need to keep your chains sharp. The anti-kickback chain comes on most smaller homeowner chains. A sharp chain is safer than a dull one. I don't like the safety chains, but you need to be careful no matter what chain you run. Spend the money and get some chain saw chaps and helmet. For less than $150, those two items are much cheaper than a visit to the emergency room. Be safe. The anti-kichback chains cut slower because they take less of a bite of the wood.

pinewoodburner said: