Anybody using a Stihl 260 pro?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

leftyscott

Apr 6, 2009
arkansas
I've been running an 036 for the last 12 years. It still runs well but I'm looking to go for a lighter weigtht model that still packs some zip. I think the 260 with a full tank is about 3 lbs lighter than the 036. I'd go with a 16" bar as well.

Looked at the 250 as well but I don't know if it's enough saw even though it's similar and $200 less. Plus it's labeled "occaisonal use" which bothers me. I cut 4-5 cords/year, sell a bit and maintain 50 acres of woods.

Am getting a nice tax refund so cost is no big deal. Thought about getting a splitter but I still enjoy splitting by hand. Tractor Supply has a 22 ton Husky marked at $999...hmmmmm.

The 260 not a strong saw by no means imo. (500.00 bucks worth anyway) with a 036 I would look at the 192t (6.6 lb) or 250 or 211.

If your set on a Stihl, it sounds like the 260 would be a good fit based on wanting less weight. I own a 260 and like it as it does pretty good with a 16" bar and .325 chain. Mine is muffler modded and running a little over the factory RPM limit. If I had to do it over again I would buy the non cat Husky 346XP new edition though.

HittinSteel said:
If your set on a Stihl, it sounds like the 260 would be a good fit based on wanting less weight. I own a 260 and like it as it does pretty good with a 16" bar and .325 chain. Mine is muffler modded and running a little over the factory RPM limit. If I had to do it over again I would buy the non cat Husky 346XP new edition though.