anyone using a Thermal Control boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first year with their smallest boiler (125K advertised) and I'll tell you what I know and have experienced.

My house is a 2100 sq ft ranch with full basement. I have a water to air HX in the ductwork above my propane furnace. The boiler is in a 1500 sq ft detached garage. Water is piped underground to the house, through a sidearm HX on a DHW tank, through the water to air HX and then back to the boiler. Simple enough.

I first received it at the end of October in 2008. Finished the piping and first fired it up on November 15th and ran constantly to the 2nd or 3rd week in March. I have been firing it up a couple days a week as needed here recently.

The house thermostat was set at 71 degrees all winter. The garage, by heat loss off the boiler and stack etc, stayed anywhere from 58 to 73 degrees all winter. The coldest is got here was -10 degrees.

I fed it at 6 AM, 5 PM and before bed at 10 - 11 PM. There were only a handful of times when the thermostat reading was below 71.

Wood consumption was around 7 cords during that time period. Since this was my first year the wood was not the best. I cut some in April, August, September and October. So I am sure it was not seasoned well. All the trees were dead. I could tell some were seasoned well and others not so much. So IMO would consumption may get better next year.

Pros:

1. It kept the house and garage warm.

2. It appears to be built well.

3. You can't get any simpler.

4. Large firebox and door.

Cons: