Avalon Wood Stove Baffle blanket

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jedford

Dec 23, 2008
Ma
Hello, I am new to wood burning and have a few questions i'd appreciate any input on. I purchased a refurbished avalon pendleton 745 . The stoves output is on a 45 angle off the back. I still could not clear the fireplace opening so I took the legs off and set it on the floor inside the fireplace removed the damper door and used an ovalized stainless flex to get up into the liner and installed a blocking plate. The top of the burning chamber is not completely covered in fire brick ( I think the smaller one is missing ) and there is no kaowool blanket or blanket holder above the firebrick. The Air Tube spins by hand. I also do not have a chimeny cap.

question #1 Am I ok without the legs? ( the same model is available as an insert )

question #2 How important is the missing firebrick and kaowool blanket? ( can I run it a few times without them )

question #3 Does anyone know the specs on the blanket or where I may find one? ( Im near the Mass RI border but will take anything youve got )

question #4 Should I cover the opening between the hearth and stove?

question #5 which direction should the holes in the air tube be?

Thanks for any help!

Jedford

I ran a freestanding Pendleton in my fireplace for a few years and have some thoughts.

question #1 Am I ok without the legs? ( the same model is available as an insert )