Best pellet for St. Croix - Auburn stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kryscio23

Aug 17, 2011
Poconos, PA
Hi everyone,

First-time poster.

I am not new to burning pellets but I am quite new to what kind I should be looking for. For a long time (13+ years), my step-father had a Lopi pellet stove and I replaced it last December with a brand new St. Croix Auburn stove. I had lots of pellets left over from the season before along with a free ton from purchasing the new stove but my question to everyone here is, what is the best kind of pellet that I should be using for this particular kind of stove? Most tons of pellets are in the $200-250 range to start with and I know I am on a limited budget, but I just want to get the kind/type that work the best with my stove so that I get the most out of it. That includes a better burn, less clogging and all of the troubles you guys know come with burning these things.