Best way to store wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CiscoKid

Oct 4, 2009
Eastern PA
Well, ok, maybe not what is the best way, but what is the best/most economical way? I’m a newbie, and I’m getting my wood insert installed this week (we went with a Lopi Declaration - looking forward to getting it!). I have about a cord of wood under the overhang of my house in a firewood rack which I plan on having as my “near” storage, but I know a cord isn’t a whole lot and I want to set up additional storage away from the house. Up until I “installed” my firewood rack today I thought I would just use a couple of them along the fence, but I now think I’d need too many and it’d be too expensive.

What’s the best way to store it? It should be kept off the ground, right? (grrr – hate termites…). I saw something about maybe using plastic pallets – is that a good way to go? Do I need to put crushed stone down first or can I just drop them right on the ground and stack the wood on top of them? One more thing - does the wood need to be covered, or is it ok to “get wet” while seasoning over the course of a year because I’ll be moving it under the overhang a few weeks before I burn it? Any other tips are greatly appreciated...

Sorry to be so clueless ;)