Bradford pear

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

krex1010

Minister of Fire
Jan 3, 2010
southeast pa
My tree guy friend just dropped me a load of Bradford pear, maybe half a cord, anyone have an experience with this species? It seems pretty heavy and dense. I know free wood is free wood and I don't turn down anything but I have no experience burning this wood and I know someone here does! Oh and this wood is gong into next years wood pile.

Pear is related to apple and I know apple is very good firewood.

although I know that a living bradford pear tree isn't worth a darn once it gets any snow or ice on it - they will just snap in half all over the place.

I'd be pleased with that wood.

If it's not pine it's fine.
:)

I burned some a very long time ago.
I had mostly branches and a very short trunk section , so smaller stuff.
Too long ago but I don't remember anything remarkable / unremarkable about it.

Never burned pear, but the general consensus seems to be that fruit trees usually are excellent for burning . . . and for smelling when splitting . . . i.e. apple, cherry, etc.

Reactions: Jeffm1
krex1010 said:
My tree guy friend just dropped me a load of Bradford pear, maybe half a cord, anyone have an experience with this species? It seems pretty heavy and dense. I know free wood is free wood and I don't turn down anything but I have no experience burning this wood and I know someone here does! Oh and this wood is gong into next years wood pile.

Apple Malus domestica 4,100 26.5 / btu's

http://www.chimneysweeponline.com/howood.htm

zap