Breckwell Combustion Fan Turns Off During Fire - Help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

BreckHellSmokeStorm

Nov 6, 2021
GRANTHAM, NH
Hello,

I’m totally new to the message board and pellet stoves. Hi! I just bought a house that came with a Breckwell P23FS stove that is acting up.

Top to bottom I brushed and vacuumed out all the spots, cleaned fan blades, and cleaned the chimney with a spilling drill brush. It was severely neglected. It was a solid 3 hours detailing it. At the moment it’s clean as hell.

I have a problem where the combustion fan randomly turns off during a fire, the room fan stays on, red light #2 flashes, and a ton of smoke gets blown into the house. Smoke detector goes off, kid starts screaming… it’s a disaster.

So I did the deep clean and it just happened again and I’m baffled. I don’t have a local Breckwell dealer to help me and am hoping I can figure out what part might be bad with your help.

When this shut down happens the control board locks out for about 15 minutes. After 15 minutes or so the combustion fan will come back on and the smoldering fuel in the burn box will reignite and it resumes normal operation.

I don’t trust this thing.

Does anyone know the problem?

Thank you

Ryan
Grantham, NH

DEC4D72D-E8B9-4B8A-B602-EA7B2E2C1C79.jpeg 9256361D-6461-4EEA-96A9-F02C18FF5874.jpeg B078676F-5E71-44AF-BD03-060A890D47DC.jpeg

Possible motor overheating and shutting down
Possible bad connection to motor,unplug and check the terminals are tight, including the big connector at the control board. You may even see burn marks on the terminals
Possible control board is dying