Breckwell P23 Insert convection fan super loud during start up and cool down

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eric C

Dec 13, 2010
Mohegan Lake, NY
Hey all, newbie here. Have a question for anyone who may have experience with the Breckwell Traditioners P23I. Installed it 2 years ago and really love the stove but over time the convection blower fan has slowly gotten louder and louder during startup and cool down, to the point where its now driving me crazy. it doesn't seem to spin perfectly and has a rattle to it. Last year when it first started happening, it vibrated enough to cause a an annoying metal vibrating sound. I disconnected it and siliconed underneath all the connections which improved it tremendously. Now, the fan blade rod itself has gotten louder when it spins, to the point of annoyance. It appears that the flat part of the rod that the fan blade screws into with a set screw knocks on something with every rotation while spinning. I know I may have to purchase a new blower, but would like to hear from anyone who may have had this problem and has a solution that fixes the blower,( which seems possible.) What drives me crazy is I can't remove the fan blades from the rod to get in there. Its a torx set screw that is so tight that I can't remove it. Its too tight and too tough to get at, to get a little leverage. Hopefully one of you may have some suggestions or at least have had a similar experience you'd like to share.

Thanks,
Eric

Mohegan said: