Buck Stove ash shutter and door leaking air

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Uncle Meat

Jan 4, 2011
Inola, OK
Hey all, new to the site and wanted to introduce myself and ask a few questions. I live in northeastern Oklahoma and am a geologist by trade. I like to hunt ducks and fish. About 2.5 years ago, the wife and I bought a house with a Buck Model 80 ZC. I have been cutting a splitting my own wood by hand. This is our first house with a wood burner and we have been using it regularly the past two winters. As I've gotten a little more used to using the stove I pretty much have gotten the hang of it. The stove appears to draft well, burns clean and heats up the house well.

My questions has to do with the ash pan shutter on the inside of the stove and the front door. The shutter and door both have gaps that let air get pulled into the stove. The shutter, being on the left side of the chamber floor, causes uneven burning as the air flow fires the wood harder on that side. The gap in the door I just noticed yesterday and is approximately an 1/8-inch at the widest portion of the gap. If this were one of your stoves, would you take out the ash pan shutter and seal the floor somehow? Is there a way to seal this shutter better? Regarding the door, should this gap be there at all or should the door seal real tight?