Burn pot fills after a day

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

indoorairpro

Jan 27, 2011
NE PA
First thanks in advance to all who read and/or Answer this post.

I am new to pellet stoves but have been in the HVAC business for many years.

When my oil bill hit $250/ month I decided to try the pellet stove idea.

I picked up a used Kozyheat Olivia on craigslist and took it completely apart and cleaned every nook and cranny and yes I did read the manual and did the 1 , 6 and 12 month maintenance before i ever lit the stove. the stove has settings from 1 -5 and auger can be trimmed up or down on each setting.

The exhaust is about 6' total horizontal with 1 45 and one 90 degree outside pointing down.

My first ton of pellets were Stovechow and seamed to burn well with alot of fly ash. Ash pan filled every couple of bags.
My next ton from lowes was called Greenteam and since using them my burn pot fills and I have to shut stove down once a day and clean it out. Hardly anything in ashpan. This happened occasionally with the Stovechow but nearly as often. I also noticed right after cleaning flame goes straight up but then over time gradually starts to hug the back of pot and a portion of it seams to ride or stick along the edge of pot between back of pot and back wall of stove .
I own gauges such as magnehelic etc so if there are any tests I should do please post them.