Can someone explain HOW a wood gasification boiler works.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I'm far from an expert, that hasn't stopped me before so I'll have a shot at it. In a downdraft gasser you typically have 2 chambers. In the top chamber wood is burned slowly with a controlled amount of oxygen & the gas is either pulled or forced through a nozzle or nozzles at the bottom of this chamber. This gas burns very hot as it goes through a bed of coals (2000 f area) This 2000 degree gas then goes to whatever heat exchage system you have, typically firetubes. What is important to understand is that a gasser is a very "balanced" boiler. You want just the right smoke production & ability to burn it. Thats where all the R&D comes in. Good Vid, I'm not sure that was a gasser though, Randy

Pretty good basic description - Essentially in the video, we had a good basic demonstration of the concept of gasification - where heating wood causes it to break down and give off flammable gas... A gasser just does the same thing on a larger scale, and harnesses the output a bit better...