Century Hearth FW300010

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

drv00691

Jan 15, 2007
Hi All, This is my first time posting....I have been here as a guest for a while and I just bought this stove becuase it was the best deal I could find! I also got the blower for $30.00 last night....I am comming from a very old Richmond Wood stove. I haven't been burning wood for long so bare with me.....I have not installed the new stove yet and I have some installation and other questions:

1. It is a 6' flue and that's what is attached to my existing stove but how do I connect it to the new stove? There doesn't seem to be any screws on the new stove. Do I use the Hi heat sillicone to seal it?

2. Where do I put the magnetic thermometer? The one I have now is on the stove pipe going into the chiminy and I try and keep the temp between 350 ad 450. Unfortunatly, I have to baby sit the stove every 10 to 15 min becuase it burns through the wood so fast(I am using seasoned mixed oak/Birch)

3. I know there are others with this stove. Can anyone tell me what the burn time is with this stove? 8-10 hours?

4. How well does it burn overnight and how many sticks do you put in before you go to bed?

All in all it looks to be well built and im sure it will be alot more efficent than the Richmond Wood stove. I've been through a full cord of wood so far using the stove part time.....

Sorry for the long post but I am new to the newer stoves.....

Thanks in advance.....