Cleaning a Mt Vernon AE Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joescho

Feeling the Heat
Feb 11, 2009
Northeastern PA
I know there's at least a few of you that have Mt Vernon AE inserts. This is my first year with it, and I've had a chance to do a little burning and checking it out. I want to make sure I keep up with it as I recently learned it throws so REALLY good heat (which is another goods story). Everyone I talk to (including the folks here) say the stove needs to be clean - clean - clean....

I've read the manual about cleaning and have a decent idea on what needs to be done like vaccum around the pot and the burn shelf, take care of clinkers as needed, remove the ashes, clean behind the baffle.

Got two areas though that I'm not sure how to adress - the hopper and those two exit ports behind the baffle.

First question is do you pull the insert out? If so how far? I would imagine you're disconnecting the liner first too. Mine sits up on a mantel, so I would have to get something like a cinderblock to rest the stove on while its pulled out.

I'm sure its a good idea to keep the hopper and auger area clean so it does not jam. How do you clean that? I see that the pellets feed from the left side of the hopper. Do any of you just stick a vaccum cleaner down there, or do you go behind the stove and remove the assembly? If you remove the assembly, how did you go about it?