Condensation on Inside of Hopper Lid

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RKS130

Minister of Fire
Oct 14, 2011
Lower Hudson Valley, NY
I am still new to this and feeling my way - happily - through some twists and turns, so bear with me if this question is too obvious to believe!

This morning, for the first time I noted condensation on the inside of the hopper lid. Is this a problem? I assume the source of the moisture is the pellets themselves, but they seem intact and like all the others I have burned so far.

Grateful for any input from those who know these things.

If you are storing your pellets outside in the cold, bring in a couple of bags
to warm up before throwing them into the hopper.
Will help reduce the condensation from extreme temperature swings

tinkabranc said:
If you are storing your pellets outside in the cold, bring in a couple of bags
to warm up before throwing them into the hopper.
Will help reduce the condensation from extreme temperature swings

X2^^^^^^

where is your stove loacted and how is it vented?

Eric

I have been burning American Wood Fiber pellets (purchased from HD where they were stored outside. They opened a new pallet for me and there was no visible water or moisture under the encapsulation.)

I have been storing about 4 bags in the house, which I replenish on a rotating basis from the shed, so there was probably not a dramatic change in temp when they went into the hopper. Although it is possible that the bag I loaded last night had only come in yesterday afternoon.