DIY Hearth Inspired by You

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikerowe81

Nov 30, 2010
Southern WV
This has been about a year coming, but I wanted to share my work with the hearth.com community since they provided the inspiration and guidance to get this done. Thanks everyone!

Here's all of the higher resolution pictures

I am by no means a pro, but through much advice, borrowing of tools, and a little trial and error...I think it turned out pretty good and my wife loves the wood heat.

A couple of of things I learned for any other DIY'ers out there.

- There are two types of cement board out there (at least at Lowes, which was pretty much my only option) 1) DUROCK Cement Board and 2) HardieBacker Backer Board. The durock is a couple bucks cheaper, and I used it on the floor, but the HardieBacker is flatter "sheet-rock" like board, which worked great on the wall. The cement board screws weren't long enough as I used 2 layers of strips of cement board to give an air gap between my backer board and combustible wall, so I used deck screws and had to predrill all the holes. Use masonry bits, and I used a large masonry bit to create a counter sink as the hardiebacker has pretty much 0 compression.