do fiberglass rods bend?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joesat78

Jul 13, 2008
Central PA
I have a 30 degree bend in my SS liner. I was trying to buy the below to clean the chimney

http://www.idealtruevalue.com/servlet/the-3743/5-Piece,-4'-Fiberglass/Detail

I called and spoke to them about how much the rod bends. She said it will bend to some extent, but it won't bend much as its made of fiberglass (not sure how much). Has anyone bought from here? or have similar fiberglass rods? My local stove/chimney dealer is asking for $21 for a 5' foot fiberglass rod, where as here I'm getting the whole kit for $20.

Any ideas?

Also, I found a 8 in poly brush in the same site (http://www.idealtruevalue.com/servlet/the-42020/8"-Round-Poly-Chimney/Detail). The representative said the bristles are flexible. My chimney is 6 in in both ends and ovalized in the middle section. Should I go with the 8 in or the 6 in brush?

Thank you guys

Go to the dealer and see how much the stuff bends. I use pvc water pipe as my rod. It won't make it through the bend in the bottom of mine, but I usually don't clean that far down.

I have 2 bends in my s/s liner. ( I don't know the angles). I cleaned my chimney yesterday. I have 3 sections of 6' fiberglass rods with a poly brush. I had no problems getting through the angles and they are pretty close together.