Do you store wood inside or outside the house

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fabsroman

Minister of Fire
Jun 1, 2011
West Friendship, Maryland
While not a newbie to cutting, splitting, and stacking wood, I am a newbie to heating a home with wood. Did plenty of cutting, splitting, and stacking in my younger years as my parents used plenty of wood in the fireplace and my dad cut trees to make cash every so often. Thing is, my dad isn't one for doing a lot of research on things like stacking and seasoning, or even wood burning inserts or furnaces for that matter.

So, after only 2 months of heating oil bills in the new house, I am getting ready to buy a bunch of stuff for burning (Yukon Eagle II Polar furnace), cutting (Stihl MS 250), splitting (Huskee 22 ton), and hauling (16'x7' trailer) wood. Problem is, I am stuck trying to figure out how to store it. Dad always stored it outside for the most part, but he never had more than a cord or two on hand. On top of that, it wasn't really stored in an open area with a lot of sunlight.

From what I have read on here and elsewhere, it looks like I need to make some racks to season wood for a year or more. Shouldn't be a problem since I get plenty of sunlight and wind here and have plenty of space to set up some south facing racks with a roof and covered north side. Thing is, once the wood is seasoned, can I bring it into the house prior to the really cold weather getting here, or am I better off leaving it stacked outside the house under the deck right next to the walkout basement door?

Welcome, fabsroman! :)