Englander-30 users?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BobUrban

Minister of Fire
Jul 24, 2010
Central Michigan
Those curently burning/heating with a 30 - I would like to ask you a few questions regarding your N-30 in comparison to other stoves of similar design. As you are a users of this stove and vets of wood burning I just want to pick your brain a bit if you don't mind.

A little background: This is my first year heating with wood in my own home but I have been around it my whole life(I'm 45) and grew up with a VC defiant in my folks home. I am currently heating with the same stove mostly because it was given to me and I spent 3000.00 having my chimney installed so I figured getting my feet wet with the freebie and a stove I am familiar with was a good plac to start. My intention is to upgrade my stove in the spring/summer and be reasy for next season. I am burning good wood and have access to plenty that will be cut stacked and drying for at least a year prior to burning next fall. Mostly oak, ash, cherry and other hardwoods available to me here in Michigan. My home is 1600sq' and pretty open. I am haing no problem heating it well with the stoe I have and have not needed my furnace back-up at all this year. We will see what the real cold weather brings. My Chimney is class A up through the house and double wall class A stove pipe. All 8".