Enlarging the hole in the basement wall for the wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lafatlife

Nov 6, 2008
CT
Hi everyone, this is my first time on here and I hope someone can help me. I have a wood stove in my basement and the setup was fine with the pipe going through the cement wall.

I have added a wall with 2x4's and drywall and to make a room down there. Now I would like to hook the stove back up but understand that there needs to be an 18 inch clearance around the pipe but that would take out a good portion of the wall.

I would like to use the insulated piping through the wall however the original hole has a masonry pipe in it with a diameter of 6 inches to accommodate the stove pipe.

Are there any suggestions as to what I can do for this problem? Any help would be appreciated!!!

Thanks

Some pipe mfgs offer a wall pass-through for this exact predicament. I would come with a 6" mortar sleeve and a big insulated thing that goes in the drywalled wall. Hopefully the mortar sleeve will fit into your existing hole.

I have one laying on the floor of my office (that could be for sale, only installed and then ripped out once) made by Simpson Duravent. I have seen them online for just about every other pipe mfg as well.

aaahhhh, I am so confused about this whole thing. I know that the original hole in the wall was made big enough to accommodate the clay pipe within it which of course has a 6 inch internal diameter. These are flush to the inside of the brick wall. There is just a straight black pipe that goes through the wall to connect to the chimney.