Favorite brand pellets/ worst brand pellets?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CD2011

Aug 28, 2011
Massachusetts
I'm a newbie with a Harmon P43. After reading this forum for a few months, I'm thinking that I lucked out when I bought a ton of Green Supremes at Lowe's back in August, most of you seem to like this brand of pellet.

In many threads, people mention their best/worst pellets, but I thought it would be easier for us newbies to see your opinions all in one thread.

So..... please... to help out us newbies...list your favorite brands of pellets and the pellets you just won't use!!

thanks a bunch!!

Favorite's are Spruce Pointes, Okies, Cubex, Turmans and Hamer Hot Ones! :coolsmile:

Worst is Inferno's/Nations Choice! Yuk!!!! :sick:

Favorite's for me, Excellent - Hamers Hot Ones, Hardwood Heat (Repackaged Hamer's), Turman, Somerset

Middle of the road, OK - Pennwood, AWF, Green Team

Not so good, I will not use - Juniata (Energex), There was another one, just can't remeber at the moment which one.

I'm always trying 2 or 3 bags of new brands, that I run across of, if I haven't used them before. Always try a couple bags 1st, before you buy a ton of them. You have your good ones & bad ones. Some burn better for other people'e stoves, but never seem to burn good in my stove. I must have tried maybe 20-25 different brands since burning pellets (5 years).

Favorites Somersets, hardwood heat

least favorite AWP local brand decent heat alot of ash and th occasional clinker

Favorites..Turman, Cubex (Can't get them anymore), Barefoot and Okies.