Firebrick Replacement

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ACDavis

Mar 9, 2010
Sacramento Ca
Hi there, I'm new to the forum and have done a little poking around with the search function. I am a noob to fireplace inserts, so I appologize in advance for my lack of knowledge.

I was mainly wondering if anyone could shed some light on a situation that I have with my FABCO fireplace insert.

The firebox is lined with firebricks that appear to be individual bricks. A few of them are cracked, I haven't worried too much about them until lastnight when I went to clean the firebox out and one of the bricks is now split into thirds and could easily fall out of position. I called a local fireplace store and they didn't think that this could be made out of individual bricks, but out a a pannel made to look like bricks. I will take a closer look tonight, but I do believe that they are individual bricks held in place with a piece of angle iron at the top.

SO long story short, is there a special kind of brick that I need to get to replace the cracked bricks? If so where can I find them? Should I turn the furnace on until I have a chance to fix the bricks?