Fireplace Insert ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pete97

Aug 29, 2006
Pittsburgh Pa
I am buying a new house that has a masonry fireplace in it. I want to add a wood burning fireplace insert in it to heat the house. Any suggestions? I am new to inserts but not stoves. It doesn't have to have glass doors but I can't seem to find any new ones that don't have glass in them. Also, a lot of new ones show to load the logs in side ways instead of front to back. I think they burn better front to back. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Pete

Thanks. There are just so many to choose from. No idea who to go with. I am going to take some measurements today. Any recommendations on brands???

I would say a $1000-2000

Hard to recommend without knowing the size that will fit and a lot more details about the fireplace location, the space and the house to be heated. Knowing the your general location would also help. Can you add it to your profile?

The house is 2300 square feet 2 story. The fire place is in the Family room. I want to try and heat as much of the house as I can with the insert. I will measure it today. Also, the house was built in 1986. Pete

Great, thanks Pete. In Pittsburgh, it sounds like you will be looking for a 3 cu ft insert if it will fit. Once you have the FP dimen., if you can also post a simple sketch of the floor plan that includes the fireplace location, that'd be great. A picture of the fireplace would also be beneficial in case there are complications or possible alternatives like a hearth mount stove that you want to consider.