Fireview finally installed and a picture

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brogsie

Feeling the Heat
Dec 19, 2007
eastern MA
I bought a new fireview last March during Woodstock's end of year sale.
I put it in to a new house still under construction. I can't tell you how great the whole experience has been. I bought the stove and a complete chimney package from Woodstock. I picked up the stove myself (3 hour drive). The people a. Woodstock where great,
I am a general contractor and installed the stove myself. I can't believe how easy and how nicely every thing went together. Once I had the hearth in I did not have to go to a store for any thing else. I don't think I have ever done a project without multiple trips to the hardware store.
I have had three break in fires and find the stove easy to use (compared to my VC Encore Defiant).

Few minor things I did not like

I got the metallic gray color and had the stove pipe painted to match. After the first few fires the pipe and the loading door are turning brown. I now wish I picked another color. I wish they told me it would discolor.

The stove pipe also came with black screws that look lousy. Wish that told me as I would have bought some paint. Now I have to send away for paint.

The stove pipe heat shield has big red numbers stamped on the shinny inside that be seen from the front side.

Loading door handle is not easy to lock. They give you an extension handle that fits over the door handle for coolness and leverage. That is scratching the paint off the door handle.